Over-achieving or the art of slowing down.

I have taken a lot of decisions over this weekend.

The first and the hardest is taking half my course load at the fall. The reason why I am doing this is because I’ve realised that I can’t sustain the life I am living. I am splitting at the cracks and that’s not good. I’ve been functioning on survival mode and that’s not helpful at all.

I haven’t failed, I haven’t given up, I’ve just gone and tackled an issue. The way I see it I have decided to take smaller steps… and that is brave too. More often than not I have found myself in situations where I couldn’t really cope with the state of things yet I decided to carry on for the sake of… Well for the sake of something.

Not this time. I am determined to make a better life for myself and that starts with self-care. I won’t self-destroy. I won’t overload. I won’t entertain toxic friendships. I will practice self-love everyday. See the beautiful things in life. Sleep enough, eat enough, sit down when I need to and have fun every now and then.

I won’t become a shell. I won’t forget myself. Not now, not tomorrow, not next week, not ever. Again.

2 thoughts on “Over-achieving or the art of slowing down.

  1. If something isn’t working for you, then the best thing to do is to be honest and do what you can to deal with it. It’s a brave step, people don’t always approve but you have to live your own life. Good luck with the reduced workload, I hope that you get the quality time that you crave😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

